School Board & Policies

Board Calendar

School Board Election Information

About the Rio Rancho Public Schools Board of Education

The five-member elected School Board is the statutory governing body for the school district. The board is responsible for establishing overall direction and district policy. Under state law, the board hires the district Superintendent.

Board members serve four-year staggered terms. Board elections are held in odd-numbered years on the first Tuesday in February, alternating between districts 1, 3 and 5 and districts 2 and 4.  The next board election will be held February 7, 2017 to choose members representing districts 1, 3, and 5. 

Who is your Board Representative?
Maps of the Board Member Districts:
District 1
Don J. Schlichte, President

Email Mr. Schlichte
Elected: February 6, 2001
Re-elected: Feb. 1, 2005
Re-elected: Feb. 3, 2009
Re-elected: Feb. 5, 2013
Term Expires: 2017
District 2
Ramon Montaño, Member

Email Mr. Montaño
Elected: February 3, 2015
Term Expires: 2019
District 3
Martha Janssen, Secretary

Email Ms. Janssen
Elected: February 5, 2013
Term Expires: 2017
District 4
Ryan Parra, Member
Email Mr. Parra
Elected: February 3, 2015
Term Expires: 2019
RRPS logo
District 5
Catherine Cullen, Vice-President

Email Ms. Cullen
Elected: February 5, 2013
Term Expires: 2017
Contact Information: Click an email link above, or you may contact Dorothy Abbott, Secretary to the Board, via email or at 896-0667 extension 51233. Or, you may use the Quick Feedback tool in the "Contact Us" button above!

Printable Schedule of Regular Board of Education Meetings:
(To view the board calendar including special meetings, click here.)

RRPS Policy Manual
Alphabetical Master Index of Policies (click a number below to go to that group) 

-  100 = Board of Education
-  200 = Personnel
-  300 = Students
-  400 = Instruction & Business
-  500 = Business & Non Instructional Operations
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.